Assess your life to-date

Dory Berkowitz-Bukowski

Clam whisperer
Oct 15, 2004
Robin Hood Country
Marklar
₥14,432
What I mean is are you where you want to be jobwise, lovewise etc?

I've squandered a lot of my life due to various factors. My parents got me into one of the best private high schools in the country and I squandered that by never turning up, never studying and never trying. I was lucky to pass all my exams relying on natural intelligence rather than actual work done. I look at the other 120 girls who were in my year at school and for the most part (like 110 of them) achieved really well, getting into Oxford and Cambridge and the like I feel a bit of a failure next to it. I dropped out of my first college after 5 days due to homelessness, it took me another year to start again at another college, due to this I'm always going to be a year behind in studies compared to my peers and that bugs me. I work in a hospital as a secretary and I know I could have been the doctor, not the secretary to the doctor. I spent my time from 16-18 getting drunk, partying and never turning up to college. I finally got my act together in the last year but it was too little, too late and I was bitterly disappointed with my results.

However I think for my age (19) I'm pretty advanced in life, having fended for myself financially and emotionally since the day I turned 16 and now I've started a degree I can see that in a few years time I could actually become a teacher which is something I feel I've been destined to be since I was younger. One of my big passions since a young age was books and so hopefully in 3 or 4 years time I'll be starting to pass on that love to a generation of kids, that thought brings me some kind of goal to achieve.