Where to move to next?

dbzeag

Wants to kiss you where it stinks
Jun 9, 2006
Marklar
₥1,014
So here is the deal.

I am going to be laid off most likely in November. My current position is that I have never lived outside of Cleveland and am begging to get out of here. I am not a fan of the cold.

My "partner" (because apparently we are cowboys :rolleyes: ) wants to move back to MN but is open to moving elsewhere. His job is fairly mobile, so it really depends on where I get work. He likes the cold, however.

I also have to sell my place which is now worth less than I owe for it, so I am thinking I will have to take a loss for it.

My current ideas for places are Denver, Atlanta, Houston (or Dallas or San Antonio), Portland, or Seattle. Chicago might be an option as well, but the job market there isn't doing well and the 12% tax rate is ludicrous. Vancouver, Montreal, Toronto, or Quebec are options as well, I think.

What are your thoughts? I am a software quality engineer by trade so I would like a place that has some sort of market left for that line of work.

Ottawa has quite a bit of high-tech work available for contractors. French is a bonus but not a necessity. The employment rate is still strong as gov't contracts keep everyone working. Plus, it's cold as fuck, but not as cold as Montreal or Quebec. We also treat cowboys nicely. Work visas would be required though...

+1 for Denver. Liberal populace, the best view you will find anywhere in the country, an awesome downtown area with a great urban feel and populace, it's actually a lot warmer than you might think as there are days where t-shirt and jeans aren't unusual in January. Had an IT boom in the late 90's, so there are still a number of development houses around the area, mostly internal corporate but a small contingent of B2B.

Did I mention the amazing view?

And that white water rafting is only a 2 hour trip away (canon river ftw)

And skiing

Oh yeah, and the view.