so when do you let go?

Thorn Bird

Forum Mom
May 24, 2005
Marklar
₥65
don't know if some of you remember, but this summer spange and i had a horrific experience with a mortgage broker who was the husband of a friend. deal went sour, he was a jerk, we have not had any contact with him or my friend since.

mom tells me today that she ran into my friend and they spoke for a few minutes about the failing health of her grandparents. i just sent off an email expressing concern and regrets about the grandparents, no more, no less. i'm not betting she'll write me back.

so when do you let go of a friendship? i've never done this before with a "friend." do you let go of 15 years of friendship without even presenting sides from the argument? do you pretend it never happened? do you let years go by and then one day pick up the phone and say, "long time, missed you"?

don't quite know what to do here. i'm bummed about the entire thing, but i'm standing my ground too. i also know there's no right or wrong answer here. i'm just looking for some experiences and/or advice you might have for this type of situation, as i am confused and a bit hurt.

I burn bridges like mad.

People either are there or they arent.

this makes sense to an extent, but this girl and i have had that closer/distant thing. sometimes we were on the ball with each other, sometimes a year or two would go by without a word. true friendships are where you don't have to keep up for a year, but when you pick up the phone, it's right where you left it. that was the way we were. it's a way i am with several in my life. life is like that. so i can't really know based on your last statement.