Need to redesign a website

wanko80

Erect Member
Jul 31, 2006
McKinney,TX
Marklar
₥5
So I'm needing to redesign my company's website. I have little to no experience in website design. As a background, I do have a BS in CS, so I've done lots of programming before, but not so much since I graduated.

Anywho, I'm unfamiliar with what languages I should use or should not use, or should I just use a design program and all that.

I do have a copy of Dreamweaver, and I've used it some to start a webpage, but my "learn as I go" use of it has so far been cumbersome and seems to be making the design process harder than it should (for example, trying to get things lined up inside layout cells has been a struggle).

I will need to create a products page for us where we will list and have pictures of quite a few products. No online shopping or such. I'm not sure that a database model is needed, but if it's not too hard to learn and is the best method, then I might look into it.

So I suppose the questions I have:

1) Should I just continue to use Dreamweaver but actually buy a book and read up on how to use it?
2) Should I buy a book on a language or two to use those exclusively? If so, which languages?

Obviously I should buy a book on both, but I'm not trying to become a professional at this, just need to create this for our company and maintain it.

I welcome any and all suggestions and advice.

PS - My main programming background was Java.

PPS - As an aside, I would pay someone to create it, but I'm capable of learning and would like the ability to know how to do it and update it on my own.

PPPS - Elpmis, will you marry me?

what will your page be for...