Ontopic History of an Old Car

Mr. Argumentor

I fab shitboxes and shitbox accessories.
Sep 27, 2012
Tampa-ish
Marklar
₥73,810
Steam
asastang
This is most of the story of Susie, my '67 Mustang
Automatic trans, power nothing, 200ci Inline Six cyl engine. As bare bones as you could get back in '67

She was my first car, I bought her when I was 17 for about $1500 from money I had earned from maintaining the yard of my uncle's law firm since I was 14 or so. She was a daily driver from 10th grade until I graduated. It was a little funny that when I first got her no one at school had really had an old car for a good 2-3 years prior (the school I went to was K-12 and very small, the class ahead of me had 52 graduating students, my grade doubled the class size, it's fairly easy for me to be certain no one else had a classic), but by the time I graduated there were a good dozen classic cars in the parking lot.

I did minor maintenance, rebuilt the carb, replaced transmission cooler lines, typical stuff, kept her running and learned my way around a wrench. My very first accident resulted in the bumper having the nice little bend it does. I was driving her for a couple months and was not fully used to manual drum brakes, didn't have as great a following distance that I needed and slid into a chunky young woman in a Saturn. No damage to her car, but I have yet to replace the bumper
3kVrE.jpg

She was a reliable, strong little car. No decent acceleration, and brakes that made you think about driving, only one mirror (driver's side) which forced me to have good awareness of who was around me, overall she gave me many many good habits.
Tallahassee didn't have a lot for you to do if you weren't of drinking age, so my friends and I would drive around and around in her all night. If we weren't driving around, we were parked out in the woods around a bonfire drinking beers from a little country store that just didn't give a shit.