buying vs. renting revisited

Jonny_B

Erect Member
Oct 14, 2004
Marklar
₥76
Interesting reading for those who were involved in the "buying vs. renting" debate we had a while back.

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/04/11/realestate/11leonhardt.html?_r=1&oref=slogin

Homeownership [...] is a way to achieve the American dream, save on taxes and earn a solid investment return all at the same time.

That’s how it has worked out for much of the last 15 years. But in a stark reversal, it’s now clear that people who chose renting over buying in the last two years made the right move. In much of the country, including large parts of the Northeast, California, Florida and the Southwest, recent home buyers have faced higher monthly costs than renters and have lost money on their investment in the meantime. It’s almost as if they have thrown money away, an insult once reserved for renters.

I've been renting for the past 20 months and I'm psyched the market is bottoming out...time to buy!

i recently bought and i hope it was a good decision. i have the same size place as when i rented and with taxes and everything included i pay a little less then when i rented. it is also a condo so i hope to keep it and rent it out once i am tired of it.

houses around me keep selling for more than 15k more than i paid for my place. Time to fix it up and get re-appraised.

I know Cleveland is a dead market. You will not make much (if any) money buying instead of renting. Prices for a lot of homes haven't budged in almost a decade. People are finding they aren't even getting back what they put into it; like a new $10K roof only adds $5K to the appraisal.

That being said, I am taking "delivery" of my condo at the end of the month.

why not go for it...fix it and flip it? it seems you'd be good at that!