budget talk

Thorn Bird

Forum Mom
May 24, 2005
Marklar
₥65
does anyone here work on a budget? what's your method? does anyone use cash? how about the old-fashioned multi-envelope way?

guess what i'm doing today. :eek: i've got to completely retrain my brain to do this, and i need help. :(

Quicken. Get it. Project out your entire year in a weekend's worth of work, and then just enter in everything as it procs. I'm highly sold on it being worth the work of getting it set up.

I know how much money we have to spend on non bills each paycheck, but I'm not very good at actually tracking exactly how much gets spent.

I take my monthly wages and subtract all the bills and savings amount out, then a gas estimate, and grocery estimate. The leftover is split between unknown expenses and extra spending money.

KISS.

Quicken is nice, I used to use it... But I stopped caring that much. :hs:

It was a godsend as I was getting ready to buy a place. It let me run a ton of different scenarios so I could get a real good grasp of what is in my price range, what leaves me a comfortable cushion, and what leaves me struggling.

So Thorny, in addition to the budget worksheets and everything. I use a cash system except for gas just because I don't like going inside gas stations. I have an secondary checking account (ING) and I transfer my gas money for the month to it. At the end of the month, I take the extra and transfer to one of my ING Savings accounts (all free to set up). I have them set up for upcoming expenses like Sweet D's vet (for example) or goals (like vacation). I am incredibly forgetful so I have to be super organized with this stuff.